What Went Wrong?

The biggest problem I had was the voice over, the original issue was there was a lot of background disruption that I tried to edit out but that made the voice sound robotic. Luckily my actress was able to re-record it and it was sorted. The next issue is that I expected the voice over to be this big omniscience presence but it sounds a bit week and not dark enough to fit in with the film. Also the actual writing is poor and very basic.

I originally thought to make the holograms I could also use the test shots I did as templates. Turns out I couldn’t. The hologram person turned out ok but I  am not as proud of the hologram screen. I think the footage on it should have been different.

On the filming day in the abandoned building we had to get to set 3 hours earlier because Brigi the main actress could not make the later times that I originally planned. Therefore I had to re-arrange the time table. This wasn’t too much of an issue and it ended out being helpful as it meant the natural light was still available and I didn’t have to try lighting my scenes. This meant I had less to worry about when using artificial lighting.

On my filming day it was very hot (27°C). I had planned for the character, Idris’s costume to have a hood and a jumper. Unfortunately we could not make Brigi wear the jumper as it would have caused a health and safety hazard. Instead I played with lighting and the camera angle to keep her identity as secret as possible.

Brig (the main actress) was not available for filming multiple days so all the scenes that I said would be filmed in Oxted didn’t happen. Instead I filmed most shots at the abandoned building so that I would still have my footage. Thinking back on it I’m not sure the underground walk way in Oxted would have worked as the location has a very different tone to the abandoned building.

Brigi, Alana and Ben all asked me to print out the image release forms for them so they could fill them out. Unfortunately, Jess forgot to bring hers so When I gave them all the forms Jess, Ben and Alana filled in the actual form and Brigi was left to just write her details on the back of one of the sheets. The same happened on a later filming day when I asked Dan to print his out and he forgot.

I had an idea to make jewellery out of tinfoil, thinking it would look sic-fi, it ended out looking really cheap and tacky. Therefore I did not include it in my costume.

Sam, an actor I had cast for a specific shot could not make the filming day so the shot that I wanted to get could not happen. In relation to this shot, during editing I wished I had a medium rule of third shot of al my characters as I think it would have filled out my trailer a bit more.

Looking back on my work I wished the music was longer and therefore my trailer would have been longer too as I feel like I could have included more shots and made the film feel bigger.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.